Home | Quick Links | Explore States | Explore Themes | Exclusive Services | Maps of India | Responsible Tourism | Package Tours | Accommodation
The standard translation of the Sanskrit word, ‘Yoga’ is yoke, in the sense of fully mindful action; the action of harmony between mind, body and soul. In our increasingly fast-paced lives, yoga opens out a calm channel to harmonize mind, body and soul. Our experienced Yoga teachers are trained to listen to your personal objectives and goals during your stay at Sanskrti. In the serene and peaceful environment of the mighty Ganges you can relax and recover from the negative effects of busy, stressful lifestyles through a combination of amazing yoga and holistic therapies. Yoga improves the harmonic flow of energy through the body it increases general well-being and hence helps you to live a happier, healthier, more fulfilling life.
Yoga was practiced in India centuries before ‘Yoga Darshana’, the treatise by the Sage Patanjali in which he laid down the basic principles of Yoga. It is one of the six philosophies followed in Hinduism. Ancient texts points out that God is omnipresent, that is, He exists everywhere, be it in a living being or a non-living thing. Also, He reigns supreme and is not affected by life or its changes. Patanjali says in his treatise that, by practicing Yoga, one could attain spiritual enlightenment and be one with God, the Supreme power or Ishwara.
The religious text of ‘Bhagavath Gita’ explains that there are four ways of achieving enlightenment namely:
• Raja Yoga
• Karma Yoga
• Bhakthi Yoga
• Jnana Yoga
The goal of all four yogas is freedom from the assumed bondage of the mind and realization of our true identity—the ever pure, immortal Self, which is non-different from the universal Self, or the Ultimate Reality. Sri Ramakrishna, the prophet of nineteenth-century India, says, “The mind of the yogi is always fixed on God, always absorbed in the Self.”
Some well-known Yoga postures or Asanas are :
• Bhujangasana- Cobra Pose
• Dhanurasana- Bow Pose
• Padmasana- Lotus Pose
• Sarvangasana- Shoulder Stand
• Savasana- Corpse Pose
• Sirsasana- Head stand
• Vajrasana-Thunderbolt Pose
| All Rights Reserved © indiatourismecatalog.com |