Home | Quick Links | Explore States | Explore Themes | Exclusive Services | Maps of India | Responsible Tourism | Package Tours | Accommodation
Restricted & Protected Areas
The country is wide open for tourists but for certain parts and particularly the North-Eastern Region, special permits have to be obtained.
1. Assam, Tripura & Meghalaya are now open for tourists and no permit is required.
2. Arunachal Pradesh: Itanagar, Ziro, Along, Passighat Deporijo Miao, Namdapha, Tipi Sujusa, Bhalukpong, Bomdilia-Tawang.
Individual tourism is not permitted. Tourist group consisting of more than 4 persons can obtain the permit and travel for ten days on the identified tour circuits. Similarly, permits are required by foreign tourists for the following trekking routes:
i) Passighat-Jengging-Yingkiong
ii) Bhalukpong-Bomdilla-Tawang
iii) Roing-Mayodio-Anini
iy) Teru-Hayuling
Permits can be obtained from the Home Commissioner, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh, Itanagar, Indian Missions abroad or Foreigner Regional Registration Office (FRRO) Office, at Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai. (For contact nos./addresses, please see ‘Entry Formalities'. While in Arunachal Pradesh, a separate fee of US$ 50 is charged per person for a 10 day tour).
3. Mizoram: Places that can be visited are Aizawl, Vairangte and Thingdawe. Individual tourist not allowed unless in a group of not less than 4 persons. Maximum stay of 10 days allowed in the state. Permits can be obtained from Govt. of Mizoram, Aizawal, Indian Missions abroad or FRRO Office at Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai.
4. Nagaland: Places that can be visited are Kohima, Mon, Phek, Tuensang, Zunbeboto. Subject to grant of visa by the local Indian Mission, the Restricted Area Permit can be obtained from the Resident Commissioner of Nagaland, Nagaland House, 27 Aurangzeb Road, New Delhi - 110 011, Tel. 00-91-11-23012296, or FRRO offices at Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai or Chennai. Permits are issued for 10 days and can be extended according to the number of days stayed. Individual and group tourist allowed.
5. Manipur: Places that can be visited are - Loktak Lake, Imphal, Moirang INA Memorial, Keibul Lamja Deer Sanctuary, Waithe Lake, Kongjam War Memorial. Individual tourists are not allowed unless in a group of 4 persons. Maximum 6 days allowed. Permit can be obtained from all Indian Missions abroad or FRRO offices in Delhi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Chennai.
6. Sikkim: Certain areas of Sikkim such as Gangtok, Rumtek, Phodang, Tashiging & Pemayangtse and Khechepen are open for foreign tourists. A permit is needed to visit areas such as Zongri (West Sikkim), Tsangu (East Sikkim), Mangan, Tong, Singhik, Chungthang, Lachung & Yumthang. Permits can be obtained from Deputy Director Tourism, Govt. of Sikkim, Sikkim Tourism, New Sikkim House, 14 Panchsheel Marg, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi - 110 021, Tel. 00-91-11-26115346 /26115171, all Indian Missions abroad or FRRO Offices at Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Mumbai.
7. Lakshadweep Islands: Foreign tourists are allowed to visit Bangaram Islands and Kadamat Islands only. They are not permitted to visit any other Islands in Lakshadweep. The procedure to be followed to visit Bangaram and Kadamat Islands is:
Bangaram Island: Casino Group of Hotels owns the Bangaram Islands Resort at Bangaram Islands. For reservations and Entry Permit, contact: Casino Group Hotels, Wellingdon Island, Cochi, Kerala - 682 003. Tel. 00-91-484-2668221, Email: contactus@casinogroup.com, Website: www.casinogroup.com
Kadamat Island: Assistant Manager, SPORTS, Lakshadweep Tourism Office, Indira Gandhi Road, Wellingdon Island, Kochi - 682 009, Kerala, Tel. 00-91-484-2668387, Fax: 00-91-484-2668487.
8. Andaman and Nicobar Islands: All foreign nationals can stay on the islands for 30 days. This can be extended by another 15 days with permission. They require a permit to stay, which can easily be obtained on arrival at Port Blair by sea or air, on payment of 30 dollars, from the immigration authorities. In addition, permits can also be obtained from: Indian Missions Overseas, Foreigner's Registration Offices at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata. The places covered by this, permit for night halt are: South Andaman Island, Middle Andaman Island and Little Andaman Island (except tribal reserve), Neil Island, Havelock Island, Long Island, Diglipur, Baratang, North Passage and islands in the Mahatma Gandhi Marine National Park (excluding islands–Boat Hobday, Twin Tarmugli, Malay and Pluto). Night halt in the park is with permission only.
For day halt South Cinque Island, Ross Island, Narcondum Island, Interview Island, Brother Island, Sister Island and Barren Island (Barren Island can be visited on board vessels only).
For obtaining permits and further information, contact:
Directorate of Tourism,
Andaman & Nicobar Administration, Port Blair - 744 103
Tel. 00-91-3192-232694 / 232747
Fax. 00-91-3192-230933
E mail: ipt@and.nic.in
(For more information on A&N Islands, logon to www.andaman.nic.in)
Neighbouring Countries
Bhutan: For visiting Bhutan, visitors require a visa from Royal Bhutan Government or their missions in New Delhi and New York. They also require transit permits to pass through the restricted areas of India. Applications for transit permits must be made to the Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi, sufficiently in advance of the date of the visit. Bhutan can be accessed by air and by road. Kolkata (India) and Delhi provides air connection to Paro Airport (Thimphu-Bhutan's Capital) by DRUK-AIR. Overland route from India is via Hassimara to Phuntsoling.
Nepal: Foreign tourists visiting Nepal should contact the Nepalese Consulate, 12A Kensington Palace Gardens, London W8 4QU. Tel. (0207) 229 1594. Foreign tourists can also enter India from Nepal.
Regional Registration Offices
For extension of visas in India and for entry permits in the Restricted and Protected areas, contact the Foreigners Regional Registration Offices (FRRO), whose details are as follows:
Delhi: Ist Floor, Hans Bhawan, Tilak Bridge, New Delhi - 110 002
Tel.: 0091-11-23319489
Fax: 0091-11-23755183
Mumbai: Annexe II, 3rd Floor, Crawford Market Mumbai - 400 001
Tel.: 0091-22-22121169
Fax: 0091-22-2262072 1
Kolkata: Office of Deputy Commissioner of Police,
Security Control, 237, Jagdish Chandra Bose Road, Kolkata - 700 020
Tel/Fax: 0091-33-22470549
Chennai: Shastri Bhawan, Annexe No. 26,
Haddows Road, Nungabakkam, Chennai - 600 006
Tel/Fax: 0091-44-28277036
|  All Rights Reserved © indiatourismecatalog.com  |